Aaron Goin

Snow Day – Part 4

Posted by Aaron on February 4, 2009

Snow Day , Snow Day – Part 2 , and Snow Day – Part 3 all had an underlying theme.  They were my attempt at explaining why I struggle to kick back and relax on snow days.  My conclusion was that sometimes God blesses us with unexpected interruptions.  It is His way of giving us a much needed break.  Yesterday, was by far the best snow day I have ever had.  So when today became a snow day, I had to make a decision, do I stay home and have another great day with the family or do I go to work and try to catch up?  You would think, based upon what I have learned the past few days, I would choose to stay at home.  Well, I didn’t, I went to work.

While I fully believe that God blesses us with unexpected interruptions and we should fully enjoy those, there comes a time when God may use an unexpected interruptions to increase our productivity.  I sought God’s direction on whether I would go to the office or not and He was very clear.  He wanted me to go.  The reason was simple, if I missed today, not only would I be behind at work, but Faith Promise Church would be negatively impacted.  The nature of my job makes it difficult to miss too many days in a row, but I do have the benefit of not working nights or weekends.  The truth is that it was quiet enough today to accomplish exactly what I needed to accomplish.  I have learned that God can send us unexpected interruptions for a variety of reasons.  We just need to seek God and try to respond as he leads.  That means sometimes we enjoy the interruptions and sometimes we take action.

Leave a comment